knitting with DPNS

Slogging through an ankle sock made with #6 needles and sportweight yarn.  First for me.  very slow going compared to a heavier weight yarn and larger needles.  Find the smaller needles are a little harder on the hand/fingers too.  But did have a set of metal dpns to experiment with in this size.

Now I like metal needles, straight and circular.  But find the bamboo dpns allow me to keep a more consistent tension and tighter at the point where the needles join.  Where I used the metals ones, I’ve created “seams”.  Of course, should I do a pair of stockings, a seam might be just the thing I’d like to have. but not in these ankle socks.

Oh well, still much to learn.  Have only been at a few months and there are still many projects and many stitches to go.

This entry was posted in homesteading, knitting, self-reliance. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

