canning has begun

This morning did 4 pints of chicken and 5 pints of beef for the pantry.  Last batch I did raw pack, this batch, I cooked the meat first.  As I’m using commercial, supermarket purchased, meat, it has water added.  I found raw pack shrank too much.  Cooking first gives me more meat per pint, and the opportunity to have appropriate broth with it.  other than a little salt, these were canned at 15 lbs for 90 minutes (I’m at 4500 feet).

canning

This entry was posted in canning, homesteading, recipes, self-reliance, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

