rehydrating soup

Finally tried some of the potato leek soup I’d made a few months ago, and dried.  It rehydrated fine, but was bland.  The bland had to do with how it was made, as I usually create a plain base and then update it depending on what I’m using up in the left over department: pork, chicken, sausage – corn or tomatoes – etc.  and then add appropriate seasonings for where I’m going with the soup.

There was some sausage in the original soup and while it was a little tough, giving it some soak time in the hot water as I cooked it all together rehydrated it just fine.  Maybe the commercial tried soups only need to be stirred with some hot water, but the home made dehydrated soups and such need a little bit more time to fully rehydrate.

This entry was posted in dehydrating, gluten free, homesteading, organic, potatoes, prepping, preserving, recipes, self-reliance, tomatoes, Uncategorized, water. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to rehydrating soup

  1. Useful info. Fortunate me I found your website by accident, and I’m shocked why this coincidence did not took place in advance! I bookmarked it.

Leave a Reply

